dominique porte

Established in Montreal since 1989, Dominique Porte pursues her work as a choreographer by challenging the limits of expression through the music of the body. She was first noticed as a virtuoso performer in Marie Chouinard’s company. Choreographers William Douglas, José Navas and Kim Itoh shaped her path. Imbued with an organic, animal, sensory approach and an architectural work in form, her own choreographic identity draws from her experience as a performer that her own choreographic identity. Fascinated by nature and human condition, Dominique Porte has explored, in her creations, themes related to communication, relationships with others, identity and the perception of the senses.

 

For the last ten years, as she noticed that certain modus operandi became obsolete, she has been questioning the notion of acquired virtuosity, which, as she matures, no longer appeal to her as it used to in her younger days. Returning to the solo form with JE, followed by Hors JE, she highlights and questions strategies for live creation and dance-making with humour and self-derision: to what extent is it possible to reinvent oneself? Considering that reinventing oneself is also linked to the audience, the choreographer will, for the first time, address the young audience through Jacques Prévert’s poetry and René Magritte’s drawing with the creation Conte de faits, in 2017. In 2019, Dominique Porte was awarded the Studio du Québec à Paris’ mid-career bursary, at the Cité Internationale des Arts where she spent 6 months. Alongside her career as a performer and choreographer, she has an interest in teaching and travel. An instructor at the Montreal Dance Department for over 20 years, she has taught in schools all over the world such as Theater Academy in Helsinki or the School of Attakalari Diploma in Bangalore.

système d/dominique porte

Dominique Porte’s style is as singular as it is bold. It reveals a precise and sensitive choreographic composition, with a unique rhythm. She develops a fluid yet angular movement that unveils poetic worlds and strong images. The company's work has been presented locally and internationally. By asserting her own style, “Système D” [a French expression: système débrouille, which could loosely be translated to resourcefulness], referring both to the initial of her first name as to the different systems she develops in her choreographic ideas, she demonstrates a creative, resourceful, inventive and flexible spirit. She became Artistic Director of her own company in 1999: Système D / Dominique Porte. Her surprising creative frenzy is combined with the talent of renowned collaborators and composers and the support of national and international co-producers.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Noir Vimeo Icône
  • kisspng-computer-icons-web-button-intern

show

image.png
keep up with the creation
arrow&v

dominique porte

Établie à Montréal depuis 1989, Dominique Porte développe son travail de chorégraphe en repoussant les limites de l'expression grâce à la musique du corps. Reconnue tout d’abord comme une interprète virtuose au sein de la Compagnie Marie Chouinard, les chorégraphes William Douglas, José Navas et Kim Itoh marqueront aussi son parcours. Imprégnée d’une approche organique, animale, sensorielle autant que d’un travail architectural dans la forme, c’est de son expérience d’interprète que naîtra sa propre identité chorégraphique. Fascinée par la nature et la condition humaine, Dominique Porte explore principalement, au fil de ses créations, les thèmes liés à la communication, au rapport à l'autre, à l'identité et à la perception des sens.  


Depuis ces dix dernières années, en constatant qu’une manière de faire est révolue, elle questionne une certaine virtuosité acquise, pour laquelle en vieillissant elle n’a plus le même intérêt. En revenant à la forme solo avec JE, puis Hors JE, elle met en lumière des stratégies de création en direct, de fabrication de la danse qu’elle questionnent avec humour et autodérision : dans quelles mesures est-il possible de se réinventer ? En considérant que se réinventer est aussi lié à qui l’on s’adresse, la chorégraphe va, pour la première fois, s’adresser au jeune public à travers la poésie de Jacques Prévert et les dessins de René Magritte en créant Conte de faits, en 2017. En 2019, Dominique Porte est récipiendaire de la bourse mi-carrière du Studio du Québec à Paris à la Cité internationale des arts où elle séjourne six mois. Parallèlement à sa carrière d’interprète et de chorégraphe, elle a un intérêt pour la pédagogie et le voyage. Chargée de cours au Département de danse de l’Université du Québec à Montréal depuis plus de 20 ans, elle a enseigné dans des écoles internationales telles que l’École supérieure de théâtre d’Helsinki ou à l’école Attakkalari Dance Diploma à Bangalore, en Inde.

système d/dominique porte

Le style de Dominique Porte est singulier et audacieux. Révélateur d'une écriture précise et sensible au rythme unique, elle développe un mouvement fluide et angulaire qui révèle des univers poétiques et des images fortes. Les oeuvres de sa compagnie ont été présentées à l'échelle locale et internationale. En voulant affirmer son propre « Système D »,  en faisant autant référence à l’initiale de son prénom qu’aux différents systèmes qu’elle développe dans ses idées chorégraphiques, elle affirme un esprit créateur qui se débrouille, s'adapte et invente constamment, en devenant directrice artistique en 1999 de sa compagnie en 1999 :  Système D/Dominique Porte.  À sa surprenante frénésie créatrice s’allient au fil des oeuvres le talent de collaborateurs et de compositeurs reconnus tout comme le soutien de coproducteurs nationaux et internationaux.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Noir Vimeo Icône
  • kisspng-computer-icons-web-button-intern

oeuvre

image.png
suivre la création 
arrow&v